Home About PhotoGraphism PhotoExploration AstroEgypto Products Services Client Area Version française
About PhotoGraphism PhotoExploration AstroEgypto Products Services Client Area Legal Informations Version française

Sky Attacks

Sky Attacks

Penne, October 2014. The twelfth century fortified castle, which once withstood the assaults of the Crusade against the Albigensians and of the Hundred Years War, now seems to be the target of a spatial raid : arrows of different colors and light intensities, but of equal size, seem to be thrown in its direction indeed. More than arrows, these are actually starry bows or trajectories traveled by dozens of stars of various magnitudes in the sky of the Tarn during the five minutes of exposure which this shooting required. These starry bows testify the rotation of the Earth on itself. This diurnal motion whose periodicity equals 23h56min04sec leads to the successive risings of stars (including our Sun) in the eastern sky, to their culminations in the local meridian and to their disappearances beneath the western horizon. The fact that the sidereal day is substantially lower than the solar day of 24 hours moreover explains the differences between the summer and winter skies: constellations follow one another in the sky indeed, without ever remaining there - with the exception of the circumpolar constellations (Big Dipper, Little Dipper, Dragon, etc.), of course.

Sky Attacks

Information relating to this photography:

  • Photographic conditions :
    • [Sky] Fuji X-E2 + Fujinon Lens XF 35mm F1.4 R - F/1.4 - 300 seconds - ISO 200
    • [Earth] Fuji X-E2 + Fujinon Lens XF 35mm F1.4 R - F/1.4 - 1/5 second - ISO 200
  • Processing tools of the photographies : RAW file converter EX powered by Silkypix 3.2.19.0 + GIMP 2.8.10
  • Optimization of the display : 180 px/in + MozJPEG

Keywords : space raid, starry bows, castle of Penne, Tarn, Crusade against the Albigensians, Hundred Years War, Earth rotation, diurnal motion, succession of the constellations, summer sky, winter sky

ligne horizontale

Print-on-demand


The partnership established with the company Fine Art America, one of the world leaders in printing technology for works of art on various surfaces (walls, clothes, decorative objects, etc.), allows the Culture Diff' company to offer you a Museum Quality printing of this photograph.

Explore the different supports, formats and printing styles available by clicking here.

Art Prints

Accueil A propos de PhotoGraphisme PhotoExploration AstroEgypto Produits Services Espace Client English version
A propos de PhotoGraphisme PhotoExploration AstroEgypto Produits Services Espace Client Mentions légales English version

Sky Attacks

Sky Attacks

Penne, octobre 2014. Le château fort du XIIème siècle, qui jadis a résisté aux assauts de la Croisade contre les Albigeois ainsi qu'à la Guerre de Cent Ans, semble à présent faire l'objet d'un raid spatial : des flèches de couleurs et d'intensités lumineuses différentes, mais d'égales dimensions, paraissent lancées dans sa direction en effet. Plus que de flèches, il s'agit d'arcs étoilés en réalité, soit des trajectoires parcourues par des dizaines d'étoiles de magnitudes différentes dans le ciel tarnais, durant les cinq minutes de pose nécessaires à cette prise de vue. Ces arcs étoilés témoignent de la rotation de la Terre sur elle-même. Ce mouvement diurne, dont la périodicité est de 23h56min04sec, se traduit par la succession des apparitions d'étoiles (dont notre Soleil) à l'est du ciel, de leurs culminations dans le méridien du lieu ainsi que de leurs disparitions sous l'horizon occidental. Le fait que le jour sidéral soit sensiblement inférieur au jour solaire de 24 heures explique par ailleurs les différences entre ciel d'été et ciel d'hiver : les constellations s'y succèdent en effet, sans jamais y demeurer - à l'exception des constellations circumpolaires (Grande Ourse, Petite Ourse, Dragon, etc.), naturellement.

Sky Attacks

Informations relatives à cette photographie :

  • Conditions de prise de vue :
    • [Ciel] Fuji X-E2 + Objectif Fujinon XF 35mm F1.4 R - F/1.4 - 300 secondes - ISO 200
    • [Terre] Fuji X-E2 + Objectif Fujinon XF 35mm F1.4 R - F/1.4 - 1/5 seconde - ISO 200
  • Outils de traitement des photographies : RAW file converter EX powered by Silkypix 3.2.19.0 + GIMP 2.8.10
  • Optimisation de l'affichage à l'écran : 180 px/in + MozJPEG

Mots-clés : raid spatial, arcs étoilés, château de Penne, Tarn, Croisade contre les Albigeois, Guerre de Cent Ans, rotation de la Terre, mouvement diurne, succession des constellations, ciel d'été, ciel d'hiver

ligne horizontale

Impression à la demande


Le partenariat établi avec la société Fine Art America, l'un des leaders mondiaux en matière de technologie d'impression d'oeuvres d'art sur des supports variés (supports muraux, vêtements, objets de décoration, etc.), permet à l'entreprise Culture Diff' de vous proposer une impression de Qualité Muséum de cette photographie.

Découvrez les différents supports, formats et styles d'impression proposés en cliquant ici.

Art Prints